Birthday presents?

I seem to run into this problem every year: what do I get my siblings for their birthdays (and x-mas)?

My brother turns 24 in a few weeks and I don’t have a clue as what to get him. I debated sending a movie or two. He likes to watch movies and has a fairly large DVD collection as a result of CD-store employee nepotism (I used to work in a CD/DVD/video game store).  But now he subscribes to Netflix. In my opinion, that pretty much nullifies the need for ever buying a DVD again. One of his favorite movies happens to be Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.

In a moment inspired by LaVar Burton, I figured I’d sent him a copy of that Hunter S. Thompson book. I later found the book used as the surface where he rolls his cigarettes. I feel like Thompson would be happy with his book being used in a such a fashion, but I was a bit dismayed.

Last time my dad came to visit, I sent some video games for the Xbox 360 back with him for my brother. A few months after that I went back to Ohio. When I walked in the door, I noticed the games sitting on the counter, untouched. My brother was sitting near by and I asked if he ever had a moment to play them. He said no, and that he probably wouldn’t get to them. He had been playing World of Warcraft, but I think he’s lost interest. I haven’t seen him on the game in weeks.

As for other interests, he watches football. I’m not sure where allegiances lie, but I think he generally roots for Ohio teams, collegiate and professional.

And this is where I stand. I know his general interests, but none of the specifics. We live about eight hours apart, so it’s not like I can sneak over to see what he’s been up to. Suggestions?

This entry was posted in blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

