10 years ago I was working in a movie theater

Ten years ago I was a finishing up my sophomore year of high school. It was also about the time I landed my first part-time job. I guess you could say that was the exact moment I gave up my blissful dependence on my parents for the pursuit of financial success.

My first job was at a movie theater. I worked behind the concessions stand in an ill-fitting polyester uniform. I started working at the time Star Wars: The Phantom Menace hit the box office. Movie theaters used to receive celluloid prints on several reels. Someone would need to splice the reels together, then the movie would be screened to make sure the splices wouldn’t break when ran through the projector. I was lucky enough to sit in a Star Wars screening two days before its release.

Hollywood thought this would be an instant classic, but it had relatively little cultural impact when compared to other movies released around the same time. Do you remember who won the Oscar in 1999, or can you quote a few lines from Fight Club, a box office failure? Over the next few days (or weeks more likely) I’ll recap some films that were released during my time at the movie theater to see if they hold up to the test of time.

This entry was posted in movies. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 10 years ago I was working in a movie theater

  1. Matt says:

    You mean those instant classics like Dracula 2000?

  2. Chris says:

    dude… American Beauty won that year and is still quite awesome(no I didn’t look it up first). Directorial debut of Sam Mendes (who also had another awesome movie last year as well). I can quote Fight Club too if you want 🙂

    Phantom Menace is pretty lame though…

    good times.

  3. Hi, interesting post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for writing. I’ll definitely be subscribing to your site.

Leave a Reply

